Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Orton Scar

    June 20, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    I spent the night on the moors above Orton with only the gusts of wind,and some friendly cows, for company.
    This morning was spent chilling whilst listening to the rain on the van roof, before venturing out as the weather improved.
    My parkup proved to be the perfect location to explore the Orton Scar, walking along the exposed limestone 'pavement' and moorland pathway to the top of Beacon Hill and the monument commemorating Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee in 1887.
    Turning back to return to Ginny, who was now just a speck in the distance, I admired the views of the Lakeland fells, the Howgills and the North Pennines around me and began my descent feeling 'on top of the world' 🙂
    Read more