Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Boston Plaza

    August 23, 2017 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 23 °C

    Hi,

    So after we said bye to Elan and she headed off to the airport from the hotel in her taxi to catch her flight home, we went and had a meal and drink in the hotel in some nice air conditioning after the heat outside, yes you just saw me say I stayed in the air conditioning Team 😉 We were just finishing up when the fire alarm went off, this involved a horn sound, blue lights flashing through the hotel and a mans voice coming over saying 'an emergency has been detected within the hotel, please stay where you are and the fire department are on their way' several times. We were sitting in the lobby and could see members of hotel staff in their high-vis jackets directing people away from the lifts however you could still see people complaining that they couldn't go to their room!?! I was especially disappointed to hear a member of airline cabin crew complaining loudly on how ridiculous she thought it was, surely she would of preferred to be safe!!! A lot of cabin crew appear to stay at this hotel. I could of got up and helped with my fire marshal sash and badge eh Team 😉 Anyway the fire department turned up within minutes, at least x3 fire engines with their red lights going. I was hoping to see some cute fire fighters however I didn't see any in the hotel but I did see one laughing at me from his truck as he caught me taking a photo (of the truck, not specifically him!) 😂 It was all over within maybe 15 minutes and another announcement came over saying 'The fire department have found the cause of the alarm and it is now safe'. Better to be safe.

    We had noticed that there was a new Starbucks open in our hotel but hadn't managed to find it so once it was safe we went and found it, good location to get a window table and watch the world go by. After that we went back to our rooms to relax and chill before we went out again, the heat and humidity really hits you when you step outside.

    So as it was our last night in Boston we decided to head to the restaurant Legal Seafoods, can't go to Boston and not go to a seafood place, which it turned out was very close to our hotel. We ordered cocktails, it had to be done, it tasted like a stronger, slightly more fruity pina colada 👍🏻 My friends food turned up and I have never seen such a huge plate of seafood, they love to give you big food portions here, I guess it is value for money. I was glad it wasn't mine, I'd still of been eating it 😂

    Right time for some zzzz's, along day tomorrow as we will be heading down to New York City on the train and picking up another for the 'Oz Reunion Tour 2017!'

    Love & hugs
    x
    Read more