Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Dak Lak Wedding - Day 2

    July 5, 2019 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    I have a better handle on how this wedding celebration works now. Its 4 consecutive parties. Two at bride's house, an informal one in the evening and a formal one in the morning, followed by an informal evening one at groom's house and another formal one the following morning. After that the bride moves into the groom's house to live with family.

    The morning party had everyone dressed up and the bride in her wedding dress. Today the guest list was 500 people! People were very interested in me still but much more sedated this time around. Probably because everyone was sober. Which was great as i wasn't exactly feeling tip top. The food being served was overwhelming. Not everything to my tastes but overall very good. Funny to see how creatively they could tear apart a chicken breast with only chopsticks. No one tried to get me chug any beers thank god haha.

    The evening affair was at the grooms house, also 500 people and this time there was only rice wine on the tables. Tasted like pure alcohol which probably explains why we all had tiny shot glasses. My celebrity status was back. Everyone wanted to come by and meet me and usually have a shot too. A few made me sit at their table and would pour me shots over and over so i really had to have a continual escape plan.

    But things got weirdest when i kept being asked to get up on stage to sing a song. Even the groom took me aside and requested it. I repeatedly declined politely. They also wanted me to do some bizarre solo dance on stage to their music.. which resembles nothing like what we have back home.

    At one point, three guys physically carried me onto the stage where i stood sheepishly for a moment laughing, raised my hand to acknowledge my fans and apologized and found my seat again haha. I wish i had all this on video.

    Following that, went back to the brides house where i was staying. The father of the bride showed me how he makes his own rice wine which had a lot more machinery than i expected. He also told me he wants me to come back and stay with them the next time i am back. And he wants to come visit me in canada as well. I am part of the family now.
    Read more