Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Hanoi - Day 1

    July 13, 2019 in Vietnam ⋅ ☁️ 35 °C

    In the morning, our ship docked at one of the karst islands for us to hike up it and into a cave near the top and spend a bit of time on sandy beach at bottom. From there we zigzagged thru dragon back rocks unti we reached the port again around 11am. I fully intend to return some day and do that again and a longer cruise too.. wow!

    Around noon, we were put on luxury vans for our commute to Hanoi. Leather lazy boy type seats and wifi for the 3 hour ride. In my van was a really sweet family of 4 from Holland who i chatted with the entire ride. I was actually sad to say bye to them as we arrived at my hotel first, but its been that kind of trip. Everyone i meet is awesome.

    Checked into hotel and set off to find Pasteur Street brewery 3 blocks away. After a quick pint, walking back with a grumbling tummy, i spotted a pho restaurant with a lineup out the door and down the street, so i got in line of course :) I was seated at a long community type table and was again lucky to have english speaking locals all around me.

    After a lot of chatter, one offered to show me around the old quarter and off we went. Cruised around the night market for a bit, then went to a water puppet theatre performance. Whats that? Heck if i know lol.. what a strange experience haha. There's a pool of water in a theatre and people playing instruments on both right and left sides plus doing voices of puppets that swim around in the water. Very cute. 9/10 for creativity? Some old friends from banff would be particularly interested in attending this thing while on their favourite flavour of illicit goodies i think.

    Then we jammed ourselves through ridiculous crowds on some narrow streets that were littered with tiny tables and tiny stools and a string of endless pubs and eateries as far as you could see. Hanoi has a lot more intimacy and character than ho chi minh city but you really pay for it when everyone wants to be in the happening spots.

    I will share one last humourous moment that i should probably keep to myself. We ducked indoors to a lounge to escape the heat (even at night, its ridiculous). They had these huge sliding glass doors to get in and out. After a pint, I asked where the toilets were and it was across the street. Like a bird, i waltzed straight into a pane of glass in full stride like i thought i could walk through walls and bounced back. Two staff ran to me making an even bigger spectacle of my stupidity lol. Nothing damaged but my pride heh. Will see how else i can embarrass myself tomorrow.
    Read more