Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Cuenca - Day 1

    July 18, 2022 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    I was going to say I had a quick breakfast but this is montanita. Nothing is quick. Found the bus stop at 11am and luckily boarded a bus immediately. Unluckily, it was not a direct bus. Took me 2 buses and 4.5 hours to get to the guayaquil bus station. And despite the bus station being meters away from the airport, it took 30 minutes to get there. Ah latin America haha

    And when I tried to check in, the girl assisting me printed out my baggage tag and for some reason i looked at the airport codes on the tags (which i never do but will always do from now on) and could see it was wrong. My bag was going to go to quito first. I would have not received it in cuenca. I questioned it right away and they agreed it was wrong and that took another 30 minutes to sort out.

    Finally in quenca, checked into my old world posada and then walked around taking a few pictures of the gorgeous buildings here. Found a downtown brewery location and hung out at the bar where i met Gabriela who was just grabbing food to go but we chatted over an hour. Everything was closed on a Monday but found a tiny karaoke place and met 3 more locals, one who took more of a liking to me than i would ever reciprocate haha. Anyways, nice people.
    Read more