Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    First day in Ecuador

    August 29, 2016 in Ecuador ⋅ 🌬 22 °C

    I landed in Quito yesterday and immediately took a cab to a hostel that had been recommended to me by a friend and several Israeli travel sites. The owner of Hostal el Taxo has a soft spot for Israelis and has even learned some Hebrew as so many Israelis stay at his hostel. Unfortunately the hostel was quite void of other Israelis when I arrived, and I was told they had all just left that morning. This made me sad, as I was hoping to find some companions on my arrival.

    No worries, however. I went to bed and the next morning got myself some breakfast and checked out of the hostel. The owner was very helpful when I asked him how to get to the central bus station. I got on a city bus as he had told me to and for a moment there felt a deja vu to my army days. Getting on that bus was as worse as getting on the bus to מחנה נתן and only slightly less crowded.

    Currently I am waiting at the central station for a bus that will take me to Mindo, recommended to me by my sister as her favorite town in Ecuador. Wish me luck! (and may I find friends... 😥)

    UPDATE! I went to find something to eat as I hadn't eaten since breakfast. Found this stand selling this soup looking thing and got myself one. I don't really know what I'm eating but here is what it consists of: white beans that remind me of פול, different colored corn curnels(like cornchips), plantain chips and poured over all of this is a sort of cold tomatoe soup with onion and chicken(though I only found two tiny pieces of chicken). I was kinda hoping for hot soup but whatever, it's pretty decent and it cost me $1.50 so I'm happy. And now I'm pissed because I totally took a picture of it before eating it so I could post it here, but now that I've finished it I see that it didn't save grrr...
    Read more