Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    First night in Mindo - Ecuador

    August 29, 2016 in Ecuador ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    I got here a little after 16:00 and was given a recommendation by a local who then proceeded to send her daughter, who looked to be about nine, to take me there. So there I am carrying my huge travel pack on my back barely keeping up with this little girl on a bike as she leads me five blocks and a left turn. Uphill.

    And the whole way there are children running about, playing ball in the street. I even saw a girl who couldn't have been more than three years of age walking somewhere entirely on her own.

    Anyways so the girl brings me to this adorable cabin, I pay my fifteen bucks and the girl behind the desk(mind you she couldn't be more than 15) leads me outside, around back and down these stairs to where the rooms are. I quickly realise that yet again, I am very much alone. If I had thought that I might find some travel partners In Mindo(which In my defense is a very popular backpacking site) I was wrong. On the bright side though, there is a forest with a stream right outside my door and I can hear it running from my room. Its actually a fantastic room if you don't count all the bugs... I don't think there was anything they could have done better though, I think that's just how it is around here.

    So I left the room to get some dinner, it took a few tries but eventually I did find a place that was still open at 20:30... Had myself a delicious Telapia in one of the best mushroom cream sauces I have ever had.

    After my dinner I went to find the one bar I had caught a glimpse of as I was running after the biking nine year old earlier. Well, I found it and here I am drinking a light Pilsenter. Never heard of it but it's decent, not too bitter for such a light beer(not a huge fan of corona). The bar is surprisingly lively and yet not a single person has come to talk to me. Legitimately, they probably all know each other from birth. I'm not sure what is worse though, being bored to death by a really boring guy tryin to get some or not being approached at all. Whatever, y'all know in making the best of it. Peace.
    Read more