Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Sudan miscellany

    January 7, 2022 in Sudan ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    These are some miscellaneous images from my time here. The 1st picture is of Grok Mountain. I'm told the sand here has a chemistry that makes this sand especially useful for electronics. The 2nd picture is another part of the desert with a different color, indicating that this sand contains other minerals. I'm told that Sudan is rich in a number of minerals.
    The 3rd pictures is in the dunes. This formation is new to me. It is essentially a hole in the sand. The winds have created a dune where there is sand all the way around the depression. Apparently, these are common here. My 1st thought was that maybe the wind worked like a whirlpool, but I never did learn how these are created.
    The 4th picture (which the shadow doesn't help, is of a gorge that is said to be far deeper than is visible due to the sand that has filled in. This is water erosion creating the canyon.
    The 5th picture is in the bottom of a wadi. The sand is deep and soft as this is where water flows during the rainy season.
    The last picture is a school built by the company I was with. The people here are semi nomadic. So providing an education was challenging. The school started as 2 rooms and has expanded to 2 buildings plus another school for older kids .
    Read more