Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Kuata Island

    March 15, 2023 in Fiji ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Farther north from Viti Levu past the Mamanuca Islands (see Beachcomber post) are the Yasawa Islands. Kuata is one of them.
    The Barefoot Kuata resort is a spectacular place here. They are deeply involved in conservation, having set up a Marine Protected Area around the resort. This is in cooperation with the local community. There is a staff of marine biologists on site full time, some of whom area doing research for their PhDs.
    Much of what happens here is in the water, or I should say under the water. So I don't have pictures. I can say that I participated in harvesting broken coral and replanting it in an area where coral is being restored.
    I also snorkeled with sharks. Both black tip and white tip sharks put on a good show. Add lots of tropical fish and healthy coral, and it was a good morning. And a night snorkel for the 1st time.
    There is also an opportunity to dive with bull sharks, but I chose not to. This is related to the PhD research I mentioned.
    There are land based activities here, too, but with only 2 nights there just wasn't time.
    The 1st picture is the common area of the resort. The 2nd and 3rd pictures are along the beach.
    I almost never post pictures of accommodations, but this is like nothing I've seen. The 4th picture is where I stayed. The outdoor shower, toilet and sink are behind the doors beyond the bed and are screened. This picture is taken from the porch. Turn 180°, and you have the view in the 5th picture, private hammock and all.
    Read more