Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Astorga to Rabanal - into the country ag

    June 20, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    Not a great night’s sleep but manageable. Set off at 6.45 as very keen to ensure a place at the UK donativo hostel in Rabanal.
    On the way out of Astorga I decided it might be worth looking for an alternative option for another time as Astorga didn’t seem like the best place to stay for lots of reasons. However I would definitely want to visit the Gaudi palace again but think I noticed large lockers, which would mean you could leave your bag while you visited and then carry on walking.
    Anyway, at exactly the perfect moment, I came to a lovely little village, Murias de Rechivaldo, which, at about 4.5 km outside Astorga, would be the perfect place to stop. And the. I found the perfect Albergue which looked lovely and has a communal vegetarian meal. Definitely staying there next time.
    The landscape has gradually changed today to become more wooded - although at times I thought that it looked quite like the new forest with gorse and heather. Some lovely villages but now I’m in Rabanal and quite frankly I haven’t seen anything yet to match this.
    The Confraternity hostel is lovely with a huge orchard garden and hospitaleros who are happy to talk about their experiences on the Camino and life as a volunteer. Picked cherries in the garden and hung my washing out and then have wandered off to find some food. Loads of vegetarian/ vegan food round here which is so strange after Astorga where there was nothing.
    We are told that there is high tea at the Albergue and a service with Gregorian chant in the church at 7. Will report back later but it sounds as if I’m going to be busy!!
    Tea in the garden (involving large teapot and lemon drizzle cake) was fab and the sung vespers also a wonderful experience. Then dinner with friends - and now in my bed having scrabbled around in the dark trying to sort my self out. 20 bed dorm with most people already sleeping at 9.30 - I was the dirty stop out this time. At least I’m by the window which is a relief tho there is already loud snoring next to me. Oh dear!
    Read more