Satellite
Show on map
  • #7 Ben Franklin

    June 15, 2017 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 20 °C

    As I have discussed in some of the other photo journal entries some, I think the prolonged exposure to the culture of Philadelphia will be the most significant new experience for myself. Having been raised in Mexico in my earlier years, and then moving to Kansas later on in my life, it is fair to say the environment of Philadelphia will have a new way of life to understand due to the culture those people are raised in. This new culture can cause new personalities, values, morals, ethics, you name it! The culture of rural Kansas is sure to be different in some aspects versus that of urban Pennsylvania. Not completely different of course, but I am expecting to see some differences. Another new experience is going on a trip with the thought of Leadership in mind. When I have traveled, usually it is with the thought of a vacation in mind. During that time, one is probably hard-pressed to think about servant leadership, while also taking in the sights and sounds of a whole new area. Just writing about it can seem like an overload on the brain. Due to taking the class, I am sure I will be reading, or observing, the leadership characteristics of those from both the past and the present. People ranging from Benjamin Franklin, all the way to people like Wesley Tink. These experiences could be overwhelming, but all things said, I am very excited to be on this trip to make those new experiences.Read more