Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Leaving the UK

    June 1, 2021 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Well the one thing I forgot to add to my list of problems while booking this holiday was that they also changed my car parking at the airport. After booking in the long term car park I received an email stating it was closed and directed me to mid term car park.

    So we arrived at the mid term car park to find barrier won't let us in. Fortunately a guy was at hand to help us, and with his help we contacted customer service on the intercom. Although the call wasn't directed to an Indian call centre, it might just have well been!! Couldn't understand a word he said!! Luckily the guy physically in the car park was able to translate.

    The long term car park had just opened that morning so I could now go and park there, not that anyone told me. However, as I had all the documentation of the change I could park were I was and explain it on my return. So we stayed where we were.

    For some unexplained reason, there were no buses running from the our car park to the airport, so we had an enjoyable 10 minute walk with all our luggage across the dual carriageway, along the fume filled underpass and up the hill to the airport terminal on the hottest day of the year so far!

    Amazingly, I have had better starts to a holiday!

    The pictures show the departure lounge at Luton airport!
    Read more