Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    CoVino

    July 22, 2017 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    We arrived at CoVino after traversing many narrow and varied alleyways. It is a very small restaurant with only 16 seats.

    We started with glasses of organic prosecco while we perused the menu. It was a three course menu, so we each got to choose our courses. I began with sole and peaches to which they added chocolate shavings. Again, it sounds crazy, but it was perfect! Evan started with a pasta with ragu, which was really neat because it had a hint of curry. And Brad had an octopus and lentil salad. Brad and I had the wine pairings as well, while Evan enjoyed his bottled lemonade.

    The next course was considered a main course. Brad had a squid ink spaghetti with roe; Evan had eel (yes, eel! By choice!) with plums and a sesame and peanut sauce; and I had sea bream with roast vegetables and a fennel salad. Of course we all sampled one another's dishes, as usual, and everyone had made lovely choices!

    The last course was dessert. Evan chose a very decadent chocolate cake; Brad had the cheese course; and I had a buffalo ricotta with nuts and fruit. Everything from the food to the service to the wine pairings was absolutely top notch! It was a truly decadent meal to kick off our time in Venezia!

    Feeling quite satisfied, we headed off to catch the vaperetto. It was dark and all you could see where the lights of the hotels and restaurants along the canal. It was so incredibly beautiful that I almost couldn't believe I was seeing it! Venice is such an incredible city that I am almost kicking myself that it took me so long to see it. However, I am seeing it now and will certainly make the most of it!
    Read more