Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    service work!!

    May 11, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Q3: what about the service experience is different than the service we do on the team at home?

    The service work we did in Greece was not completely different than everything we do at home, but it was different for a couple of big reasons. First I felt like it was more spaced out which gave us time to fully take everything in. Our typical service work at home is usually, “get a task done as quickly and efficiently as you can for your convenience and the convenience of whoever you are volunteering for.” In this situation, we had plenty of time to learn and observe the causes, talk amongst each other about the cause, and then we actually got to do some work directly for the cause. I understand the importance of the way we typically do things at home, but this was my favorite volunteer work I have ever done because I felt like I truly had some time to reflect on it and give it some good thought. This ended up leading me to a few deep-thought bus rides and typing in my notes some ideas I have to help Kayra more and even ideas to help spread the word about service work in general. I have done my fair share of service work throughout middle and high school and now to college, and I have never been more inspired and felt the true meaning before. I also think it was very different because it was outside of our bubble. At home, we know that there is work to do always with cleaning, yard work, bettering our school, and working with churches. In Kansas, we would not have such an opportunity as to work with refugees from all over and make a difference in their lives. We aren’t really around refugees like that daily, let alone work with them. I think the fact that it was outside of our bubble made it that much better for us.Read more