Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Day 42 - Touched by an Angel!

    June 2, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    The alarm went off at 7.00am, which seems ridiculous on a Sunday when you’re retired, especially for just a haircut. But this would be no ordinary haircut!

    Packed & checked out of our motel, we drove into Seligman High Street & parked up opposite Angel’s Barber Shop. As we got out of the car at 8.10am, I saw the 91 year old Angel arrive on his pedal cycle & prop it up at the side. We followed him into the shop only for Mauricio to inform us that there was someone else before me. Damn, we could have had a lie in!

    We loitered around in the shop, which is the 1st actual Gift Shop to be established on Route 66. Incidentally the Gift Shop also doubles as a Museum, with exhibits that have been sent to Angel from all over the world. Mauricio was in a chatty mood & told us more about Angel’s campaigning for Route 66 to be recognised as Historic.

    It wasn’t until 8.50am, that I was ushered into the old fashioned barbers chairs💈 by Angel. After the initial pleasantries, he asked me what I would like. I had decided overnight that I was going to ask for a flat-top, a haircut I hadn’t had for about 25 years, but had seen advertised at another barbers on this trip.

    Angel retired from barbering many years ago, but he still does one or two haircuts for visitors who want one. When I asked if he could give me a flat-top, Angel baulked at this, apparently he hadn’t cut a flat-top for 5-10 years, but as the consummate professional he took on the challenge. Jackie was also in the room as the official photographer & Angel engaged her in the proceedings. Jackie was keen it wasn’t too short.

    Angel had a comb & hair clippers & started to attack my overgrown mop. It was all done with pure hand eye coordination & even more impressively, I was being spun from side to side in the chair as he did it. Angel had a good sense of humour & joked about the progress of my haircut, but what I really loved was his attention to detail. Angel asked me to sit lower in my seat so he could do the top of my head, because he suffered from arthritis. Something we both have in common!

    My haircut lasted 40 minutes & by god what a fantastic haircut & experience it was. In my opinion, I Look Sharp! I now have an All American Action Hero haircut, which is a great accessory to my adventure sandals! By the way, Jackie absolutely loves my hair. After Angel had hoovered my head & neck, I paid my $30 (Absolute bargain) & shook hands with Angel & Mauricio.

    I should also mention that as warned, from about 9.00am the tourists, mainly bikers, started arriving & photographed & videoed Angel & I. I could get used to this!

    As I was signing the visitors book, Mauricio asked if we could send any photos (he hasn’t seen Jackie’s photos) we took to him. He explained that a Route 66 Hall of Fame was opening in Flagstaff & they needed to provide lots of material. I told him I would also send him my blog for today. He appeared keen, bless him.

    Now on Cloud 9, we drove on in search of breakfast. We stopped at The Roadkill Cafe, which was remarkably quiet. Jackie ordered the Awesome Possum & for me the Dead Meat Treat. The Cafe also doubled as a museum, mainly with a whole menagerie of stuffed animals. It was an exceptionally good meal & just what we needed for the long drive ahead, about 350 miles.

    We joined Interstate 40 westbound to Kingman, another Route 66 landmark. We drove through the Historic District & stopped to photo anything Route 66 oriented. The star attraction was Mr. D’z Route 66 Diner in pink & green.

    We continued on Interstate 40 heading towards Lake Havasu, when about 12 miles later, I realised that we should have turned off miles back for my next intended stop. This was made worse when I wasn’t confident we could get to where we needed to go on the fuel we had, so we drove all the way back to Kingman to fill up.

    This time we turned off on to Oatman Highway 10, which is the original 66 & a ‘Back Countywide Byway’. We continued to another must stop, Cool Spring Gas Station. It doesn’t sell gas, but is a Cafe, Gift Shop & Museum. It was full of passing bikers. The were also two old hairy men selling junk & rocks at a stall beside it.

    We continued up & over Sitgreaves Pass to Oatman, described as a ‘Living Ghost Town’. Upon our arrival in the town, we were met with hundreds of tourists in the middle of the road flocking around the asses. The asses presumably roam free, but know when they are on to a good thing to get fed. The town appeared to full of antique & gift shops. We didn’t stop, it was too busy & we had a long way to go.

    This Back Country Byway took us down through Golden Shores & Catfish Paradise to Interstate 40, where had to go eastbound, back on ourself. We then turned on to Highway 95, south down to Lake Havasu City, which has ‘our’ London Bridge. We crossed the bridge, parked up on the island it connects. We bought an ice cream & sat down beside the bridge in the sweltering 94 degree heat.

    Fun Facts: Lake Havasu is just a section of the Colorado River. London Bridge was dismantled in 1967 & was relocated to Lake Havasu City, because it wasn’t sound enough for the increased London traffic. It was sold for £1.78 million & it is widely believed that the Americans thought they were buying Tower Bridge!

    The next leg of this marathon journey was the 3 hour, 180 miles to Palm Desert. We continued on Highway 95 & crossed into California again. After negotiating the Border check we headed into California & followed the Colorado River to a town called Parker.

    We then hit Highway 62 & 177. It was like Wacky Races. These roads were single carriageways, about 80 miles long, almost dead straight, but littered with humps & dips every 100 yards or so. Us & 2 other cars rattled along in convoy at 80-90mph through the desert overtaking all slower moving vehicles, mainly boats on trailers. It was an exhilarating drive on what felt like the world’s longest rollercoaster.There was not a cop in sight!

    We eventually joined up with Interstate 10 & eventually arrived at our home for the night, The Inn at Deep Canyon in Palm Desert. As we checked in, the receptionist told us he was upgrading us. We have a fantastic room, complete with kitchen. We dropped our rucksacks, got into swimmers & jumped in the pool. It was still up in the 90’s.

    At the time of writing, Jackie has decided we are staying here a second night & not going anywhere!
    I have also done my good deed for the day. At the motel, a Hispanic gent covered in tattoos including all over his face, asked to borrow my phone to ring his wife. I embarrassingly asked if she was in Mexico, to which he replied, “No, America”. I lent him my phone. She didn’t answer. I think they had had a domestic!

    Song of the Day - Look Sharp! by Joe Jackson.

    Bonus Song of the Day :-

    Road Kill Cafe by Kasabian
    Read more