Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Day 13 - Toe Stubbing Agony

    December 23, 2019 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    At 9.00am, we donned our trainers & went out for a pre-breakfast jog. We run a little way along the road, then took a side road down to a beach.

    It was a eureka moment, when at the end of the road we discovered our idea of a perfect beach, a Palm Tree encircled sandy cove. It was actually the other half of Bamboo Beach we had been to the previous day.

    We ran along the Beach & headed home. Unfortunately with the tide in, we had to cross a small river. We could have just removed our trainers & paddled through it, but that would have been too easy. I wasn’t confident about jumping it, but Jackie was. Ladies first.

    It wasn’t pretty, she managed to get one foot wet on the takeoff & then land with both feet in the water, but worst still she tumbled forward on to all fours. Ending up in a similar position to someone I went fishing with!

    I was not so brave or stupid, so I took one shoe off & triple jumped it. We jogged and squelched home

    After a cold shower, there was a power cut for 8 hours we went out to Yawee Restaurant for coffee, mango & sticky rice, whilst Jackie had an enormous Club Sandwich. The food was excellent again.

    We then walked to our new found beach for some serious sun. We had a liquid lunch & more sun. Nothing could ruin the day.

    Around 4pm, Jackie asked if I would go back to the beach shack to get a bottle of water. Being the dutiful husband, I did without too much moaning, but less than 10 yards later, I kicked a buried chunk of dead coral. Flesh was hanging off the end of my middle toe of my left foot. There was blood everywhere & I was hopping around like a lunatic in absolute agony. I looked back at Jackie, only to discover she was openly laughing at me. She insisted on taking me down to the sea to wash it & presumably get attacked by a shark.

    When the pain finally subsided a little, about 2 hours later, I put on my flip flops & limped home. I can’t walk in flip flops at the best of times!

    Back at our room, I pulled off my flip flop & hobbled to the shower leaving a trail of blood in my wake. Brilliant, I am now going to be eaten alive by mosquitoes 🦟.

    That evening, I struggled out to the beach & we had spring rolls, green curry & Penang curry washed down with beer & wine to numb the pain. It was a very pleasant setting & ambiance, but the food wasn’t to the standard we have had in other restaurants on this trip.

    Song of the Day - Coral Fang by The Distillers.
    Read more