Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Day 4 - Endless Art in Zurich

    March 2 in Switzerland ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    I woke up around 5.30am in my cosy Capsule 37 having had a deep undisturbed sleep. I watched Netflix until I resigned myself to the fact that I wasn’t going to get back to sleep. After using the perfectly adequate shower facilities, I treated myself to a fresh set of clothes (Yes, I know…….minging).

    (Morning to Angela & Pam, I see you are both following & liking my blog. I hope you are both keeping well & that Chris & Tony are also well. It seems strange being away on my own. I haven’t got Jackie to take the mickey out of or blame if things go wrong!)

    It was 9.30am, when I locked all my belongings away in my expensive locker and headed out for the day. I was keen to see if it was possible to get a cheap coffee in Zurich. It wasn’t. I headed first along Theaterstrasse passing Mascotte, the venue for tonight’s gig, just a 6 minute walk away, then on to Zurich’s Opera House. Outside the Opera House, was a large open space with numerous pairs of chairs presumably to relax in. The place was deserted.

    I crossed Quai Bridge and found myself up on Bahnhofstrasse, where I saw a super busy bakery which also sold coffee. I bit the bullet and bought myself a small Americano, costing 5 Swiss francs, nearly £5. I sat outside in the sun next to the random rhinoceros metal statue & ate half a packet of biscuits with my coffee. I got out my DK Eyewitness Travel 2008 guidebook & planned my route for the day.

    As I set off, I realised that I had actually chosen the most expensive street to buy a coffee on, because the street was just designer shop after design shop, including every high end Swiss watch makers. Along Bahnhofstrasse, I had to avoid a little old man handing out leaflets under a gazebo with the words ‘Jesus Sucht Dich’. I hope it’s not what it sounds like and I’m not sure googling it would be a good idea!

    My first stop was Fraumunster, the history of which dates back to 853ad. I took some photos from the outside & from Munster Bridge, where wedding couples where having their photos taken. I then moved on to St Peter’s Church with its large clockface, measuring 28ft in diameter, the largest in Europe. Next was Augustinerkirche, a 13th century Gothic church.

    I continued back along Bahnhofstrasse, past the monument to Alfred Escher on Bahnhofplatz, and on to Bahnhof, described as Zürich’s monumental Neo-Renaissance train station & one of the city’s greatest icons, built in 1871. It was virtually empty inside.

    I continued north to Schweizerisches Landesmuseum, the Swiss National Museum for history and culture. It was housed in a very impressive building, but I wasn’t enticed in. I continued through the park known as Platzspitz, then crossed the Limmat River. I followed the river back to Wasserkirche, meaning Water Church, where Felix and Regula were martyred in Roman Times.

    Next was Grossmunster, with its twin towers that dominate Zurich’s skyline. It was not open & in any event an admission fee required. I then wandered through the narrow cobbled streets of Niederdor to Rathaus, Zurich’s town hall.

    Within Niederdor, I found the 13th century church, Predigerkirche It was open and I was able to go in free of charge!

    On the way to the Kunsthaus, I saw signs for the Cabaret Voltaire which I followed to a beige coloured building, which was the birthplace of the Dada Movement which started in Zurich in 1916. I was more interested, because I assumed it was the inspiration for the Sheffield band of the same name.

    At 12.30pm having already walked 5.7 miles, I arrived at the Kunsthaus, which my guidebook tells me is Switzerland’s greatest art gallery. It cost 24 Swiss francs to enter and I felt that it was worth every franc. There was artwork from Monet, Manet, Picasso, Cezannre, Van Gogh, Munch, Warhol, Hockney, Miro & Rodin to name just a few. I studied & then memorised the artist & title for each and every piece of artwork on display. It included Claude Monet’s Winter.

    Photos from the Kunsthaus I will upload as a separate footprint.

    I left the Kunsthaus at 4.00pm exactly & then marched along the busy lakeside promenade to the Henry Moore sculpture, just another 1 mile away. It was a pleasant sunny walk.

    Back at my Green Marmot capsule hotel, I sat on the balcony in the setting sun & drank 3 plastic cups of red wine accompanied by just a packet of imitation Jaffa cakes. From my balcony I espied 2 obvious NMA fans.

    At 7.00pm I hurried out from my capsule balcony, for the 6 minute walk to Mascotte. I found the couple I had seen & I introduced myself to them. I found out they were German and they had spotted me on my balcony. We had several chats throughout the evening.

    The ground floor seemed tiny and I took advantage of the Swiss politeness to get myself a spot right at the front, next to Ceri Monger’s drums. I was not moving from this spot.

    The support band, Anger Management, were ok, but not worthy of a playlist on Spotify. Very annoyingly a security guard insisted that he had to stand at the front of the stage. With the kind assistance of a fellow NMA fans, we got him to agree to ‘work with us’ during the performance. It wasn’t perfect, but I took the opportunity to record pretty much the whole performance in less than 2 minute chunks.

    At the end of the gig, my German friends, told me they were disappointed that the gig had only lasted an hour and 35 minutes. They were used to NMA playing a double bill concert (of which I have experienced).

    The gig finished at 10.10pm local time & at the end I hunted out the NMA stalwart, Steve Clarke. I found him near the bar & I introduced myself as a fellow Magic Bus traveller. He asked me to call him ‘Red’ & told me that he and Jack were driving the Magic Buses. We agreed that we would meet in Bern & he disappeared into a throng of fans near the stage. One of his mates/companions handed me a bottle of beer which went down a treat, but not worth the £10 it probably cost,

    I returned to the Green Marmot Capsule Hotel to download my photos and videos. I necked the remainder of my 3 litre box of red wine.

    Song of the Day - Endless Art by A House.

    NMA Song of the Day - Winter by New Model Army
    Read more