Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Bilbao and the Guggenheim

    June 3, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    Bilbao is a cool city, it is a lot less touristy than other places I’ve been. There are fewer attractions and no beaches compared to San Sebastián. There seems to be a stronger basque identity here, I’ve been seeing and hearing it a lot more and seeing a lot more basque independence stuff. The Guggenheim is what puts this place on the map, it was a pretty interesting museum and I was not expecting to see so many cars. I randomly ran into someone in the museum who I met at the hostel in San Sebastián which was funny and convenient. We explored the museum together and walked around Bilbao for a bit afterwards. I’m about to meet up with some people from the couch surfing app - one of them coincidentally being someone else I know from the hostel in San Sebastián. Small world!
    At night I met up with some more people from Couchsurfing and had another great experience. We went out for Pintxos, the typical basque food which is basically just little bites of different things. The thing to do is go around different restaurants and eat a couple at each one. We had a great time and had everything from squid to ham to cod - most of the time we had no idea what we were eating. But there wasn’t a thing we didn’t like!
    Read more