Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    First day in Oviedo and rugby game

    June 4, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 61 °F

    Now that I am with Lucas, the solo part of my trip is essentially over (except one day in between dad leaving and going to Paris), which is pretty wild. It’s great to see Lucas and of course I am getting much more Spanish practice in now as we are not using any English. Lucas had his last rugby match of the season today, it was cool to be able to see it although I didn’t understand a lot of the sport. He is on a professional team here that is essentially in the Spanish B league. There were more fans than I expected, maybe 1000-1500 people. Lucas’s team won by a solid margin and he got a try (touchdown) himself. One of the guys told me he is the best player on the team. Afterwards I went out with him and the guys on his team, which was fun but it was also hard to make conversation with them - not so much because of the language barrier but a cultural barrier. It was pretty easy to understand and talk to them but they are not nearly as conversational as Americans. They aren’t chatty and will respond to questions you ask but won’t ask anything back. It was not a problem though because I just hung out with Lucas and talked with him most of the night. And I did meet a couple of chatty people but they were other foreigners who played on the team. Overall an interesting and fun day!Read more