Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Museo del Prado

    June 10, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 86 °F

    The big event of the day was the museo del prado, which was a very interesting museum with representaron of a lot of famous artists. Unfortunately pictures were not allowed in there - I took a lot anyway when there weren’t guards around, and when I saw the garden of earthly delights by Bosch I decided to do it and get scolded anyway because it is so famous and I did a research paper on it in high school. Totally worth it. After the museum we walked around the parque de retiro, Madrid’s Central Park, which was enormous and beautiful although it was too hot out to enjoy it. We also got nice views on the rooftop of a mall on Gran Via street, which has a very New York vibe to it, and found better (yet still overpriced) food than yesterday. Frankly Dad and I are underwhelmed by Madrid - for such a big city, there is not a ton of interesting stuff to see, and it doesn’t feel very unique. Like many parts of Barcelona, Madrid feels a lot like any city in the US. It is certainly not a bad place to be but for such a world famous place it does not live up to expectations. Public transport is also more confusing to navigate and less useful than in the other cities I’ve been in (at least the ones big enough for public transport to be necessary). I would say this is the only place on the trip I have felt disappointed in so far.Read more