Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    First day in Madrid

    June 9, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 88 °F

    It was a pretty disorienting day - Lucas and I took an overnight bus from 12:30-6:30 into Madrid from Oviedo and I was completely unable to sleep, so I was super tired and out of it when we arrived. Dad arrived at around 10 and we promptly took a nap for a few hours as we were both exhausted. Once we were up we started to explore the city, which was fun but also a bit difficult because it was super hot with very intense sun. The palace was a highlight as I had never been to a real palace before with a real, active royal family still inhabiting it. It was huge and very impressive, and it also had some beautiful gardens. Madrid seems to be a very business oriented city - I’ve seen many more suits than anywhere else - and has a very upscale vibe. It is way more expensive than anywhere else I’ve been on this trip. Food so far has been ok but definitely not worth the prices and service has been very bad at the restaurants we’ve been to.Read more