Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    P2D1 to Vila Franca de Xira 41/122km

    August 1, 2018 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    Yesterday I was afraid where I shall stay tonight, on booking.com I have find only an expensive hotel room for 70e and the only one alberque was 2 km after Granja, too early to stay here. So I called one of the hostels in Vila Franca de Xira from my guide book 'Camino Portuguese'. First, it was quite confusing - the woman didn't speak english, even if claiming so. But after 10 min I've got a return call from a man with perfect english and he had confirmed my reservation. Happy me !!
    Another break in a nice park near Forte de Casa at 27km - coffee, coke, beer, water. Nice trail in the swamps. Next beer at the railway station in Alverca /32km. Than terrible 2.5km on a main street with heavy traffic. Beer and coffee in Alhandra /37km, 4 left - again nice walk along the river.
    At 1830 I arrived at an amazing pilgrim hostel Vilatejo (€15) - laundry included, very helpful hospitalero! Good, that I had a reservation, because it was full already. I've got a shared room with two women - one from Porto Rico (first santiago) and one from Holland (5x). For dinner I went to the next bar and had a Russian salad and beer.
    Read more