Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 188

    Pedro Furado

    June 3, 2016 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    I'm woken early in the morning by my phone. I get the sad news that one of my longest friends has lost his battle with leukemia it's the news I wasn't expecting to hear.Today is our anniversary and the last thing I want to do is celebrate, but I know Darren wouldn't want me to be sad. After a few tears I pull myself together and join Mark at breakfast which is unbelievable. The table is adorned with an abundance of fresh fruit muesli yoghurt bread cakes honey everything you could wish for, and a table menu with eggs served anyway you want them. The last thing I feel like doing is eating but I force myself to eat something and we decide to take an easy day by the pool playing kalluki. A guy comes along selling his wares and after a few minutes he starts speaking in fluent English. We spend nearly an hour putting the world to rights. He really is a wonderful guy and we enjoy every minute. Mark buys me a token bracelet for my anniversary for a few quid and I couldn't have been happier if it was Tiffany. We finished our game of cards with me winning obviously and after a dip in the pool decided to head out for lunch. We only ventured a few hotels down, and gate crashed a table which was exclusive to another hotel, but after a discussion with the concierge we were allowed to stay whilst also getting an invite to dinner at there sister hotel Lasennza for a secret dinner. We would be served 7 courses but would not know what it was until placed in front of us, so we reserved our table finished our lunch which was delicious and made our way back to the hotel . After an hour by the pool I went to lie down for an hour. The sun here is so strong and im relieved to be in an air conditioned room. At 4 oclock we start our walk to Pedro Furado for the sunset. Its supposed to take 25 minutes, but we have come the scenic route following the coast line along the cliff edge. One of the first times we haven't brought water with us an needed it. Above us we can see people walking and I guess that thats the 25 minute way, because we've been walking for nearly an hour and still can't see it , however the scenic route is breathtaking. After an hour or so walking we can see below us the rock and a sand path going downwards that is quite steep but we attempt to make the decent downwards. About a quarter of the way down I scream out in pain and Mark let's out a shout to, I am crippled with pain and Mark says I have to get down to the water. It feels like I've stood on 100 nettles the pain is so bad I am sobbing. After a 15 minute struggle through sand that is like walking in a huge snow drift we reach the beach. Both of us head straight for the water and bathe our poorly feet, and when I get out and sit on a rock to access the damage it looks like I have 20 huge splinters in the heel of my foot. Mark gives me no sympathy and says he's in the same pain, but that we need to hurry up and get to the rock if we want to see the sun set. There is no option as the only way to get out of here is to walk. We purchase a small bottle of water take a few pictures and watch the sun make its final drop into the sea. This time following everyone's lead we take the normal path back to the top where there are horse and carts waiting to take people back to town. I don't care how much it will cost as there is no way I can walk and the pain is still really intense, so we hop in the back. Well if I needed something to distract me from the pain this is it. The horse is sped down the sandy path with me and Mark bobbing and bouncing around in the back like 2 little fishing floats on a good day. We try and take a photo but to no avail as we literally can't sit still long enough to get us both in the picture whilst keeping my arm still, we are now both laughing like school kids as we can't even speak the journey is that bumpy, and after a long 15 minutes we are dropped back at the hotel shaken but not stirred. The pain has subsided slightly and I go and grab a shower to freshen up for dinner .
    We arrive at Lasennza and it is truly wow all the rooms with a balcony have clear glass pools that spill into the infinity pool below. We are shown to a table in the garden overlooking the beach a really romantic setting, but there are a group of ten or so Brazilians who are so loud it's distracting. Half of them are in there rooms and they are shouting to the other half in the pool. Really not ideal, but we try to ignore it. We are greeted with a glass of champagne which is really good, so order a bottle to have with dinner. First course is a roasted vegetable terrine for me 2. Octopus with tartar sauce 3. Lobster with beetroot 4. Chicken in a spicy coconut milk 5 fillet mignon with celeriac 6. Sun dried beef with roasted vegetables and pudding was a coconut cake with caramelised pineapple and chantilly cream. I am absolutely stuffed , and we drink our last drop of champagne and settle the bill. They then bring us a big chocolate cake with a candle on , which we rudely have to take away, we make our way back to the hotel armed with our cake which we give to the staff. Ten minutes later just before midnight there's a knock on the door, and the barman is stood there with a bucket of chilling champagne. Unlike me I ask mark to stick it in the fridge for tomorrow, all I want to do is sleep.
    Read more