Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 187

    Arriving In Paradise

    June 2, 2016 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    We arrive at Paranaiba on time as the bus drivers angry mood seems to have enabled him to drive faster, tthere is a couple of hours before we have to catch our bus to Camocim so we enjoy a couple of coffees and a few ciggies before heading outside to wait for the connecting bus. I get chatting to a couple of guys from Uruguay who explain we need to get another bus when we arrive in Camocim. Back on the bus it's only a couple of hours until we arrive and as soon as we're of the bus it's like we're in a ghost town. I stupidly ask the taxi drivers how to get to Jericoahcoa and they explain that they can take us to Jijoca in a taxi and from there we will get picked up in a jeep ro take us a over the sand dunes. The total journey including the Jeep is 30 quid so I agree and of we go. Its about 50 miles just to Jijoca and we arrive in town where the taxi driver says to just wait in the car until he sorts the Jeep. A few minutes later the Jeep pulls up on the side of the road and our luggage is transferred. All seems to be well until 5 minutes up the road the Jeep driver asks us for the money to take us to Jericoahcoa? ?? I tell him the journey has ben paid for but he is adamant that he doesn't understand what I'm saying and drives us round to a local taxi point. He has told us he wants another 20 pounds to take us, luckily at the taxi point the guy understands me and I explain he should have told us this while the taxi driver was here. In the end he says he'll take us for 8 pounds but I'm ranting and raving in broken Spanish and Mark is saying it's only 8 pounds, but it's the principal I'm being ripped off. We agree to pay the extra and then once again shortly after driving off he stops again, offering us a tour for an additional 20 pounds. So I kindly explain to him that he's only getting the agreed money and take us direct to our hotel. Your not having me off again sunshine🌞 I winge the whole journey about what a crook he was and how he should have said something when the taxi driver was there. Then we arrive and I shut my mouth. As a surprise for Mark (and me) I've booked us into a five star hotel for 3 days, it is absolutely stunning. We're greeted with cool flannels to freshen up and coco water. I have arrived in paradise with the man I love. Its been an amazing 5 months so far and we haven't felt the need to spoil ourselves as the journey itself is self indulgent enough for me, though I am well ready for a good bed as my body is still catching up from 51 hours on a bus. Our anniversary is not till tomorrow so after showering in our luxurious bathroom with warm water I am ready for a bite to eat. We grab lunch in the hotel but to be honest it wasn't great and then venture into town. We walked straight up the plaza and instead of turning left we went right, we walked the whole way back through the local part of town and back along the beach . The beach is set in a perfect location and boasts a huge dune next to it and an endless coast of the Caribbean Sea. With reggae vibes and a surfing and hippy community I'm in heaven. We bathe in the sea and then head back to the hotel to make the most of the facilities. After a shower and a dip in the pool we sit at the bar enjoying a cocktail with a lovely couple from Sao Paulo. There is another couple in the hotel who are here on honeymoon and invite all of us up to watch the sunset in the honeymoon suite. It is amazing with there own private pool overlooking the sea. We all drink a few beers and a glass of champagne as the sun goes down. The hotel has a buffet dinner with Luau dancing tonight and we all agree to go, by the time we've both grabbed a shower and got a change of clothes it's time to head back out again. The show includes an African Brazilian dance show, salsa and traditional music. Its fascinating to watch , and then it's time to eat. To be fair the food is really good but I can't do it justice as I'm so tired. We both admit to defeat and shortly after retire to our King Size bed with two pillows each. I'm asleep before my head even hits one of them.Read more