Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 167

    In the Jungle

    May 13, 2016 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    We arive at 7 in the morning, and it's very apparent we are in the jungle. The humidity here is incredible and I'm relieved to be getting up and its not cold. The station of puerto Maldonado is quite small and trying to get our luggage of the bus is a challenge in its self. How hard is it to match up tickets? The main problem is a group of Spanish that want their bags off first when they put them on first, and it just doesn't work like that. Eventually reunited with our bags we make our way into the terminal and I look round for the company that will take us to Brazil. Apparently there is only one and they only leave twice a week but when I go to the desk they tell me they no longer cross the border, and that it's a company cared Ormeno. Their office isn't open yet so we step outside to find a cab. Our only option is a tuk Tuk so we attach our bags as best we can and head to find a hostel. The one we've been looking at has vacancies so we get checked in and Mark heads for bed and I get some breakfast. The hostel is great and there is a mixed bunch staying here, but most people are heading out on the trek the hostel offers. Its a three day and two night excursion but until I know what bus I need to catch I'm not booking anything. Mark and I head out for a coffee and empanada and after catch a tuc Tuc tio the terminal. The buses only leave on a saturday and Wednesday and today is Thursday, so it looks like the jungle trekking will have to wait. We book our tickets for Saturday, but the woman can't confirm a time until tomorrow evening as they have to wait until the bus leaves Cusco to have an idea of what time it will arrive in Puerto Maldonado. We leave the station, but I'm not comfortable with the fact that we don't know our time, but that's the way it is. We actually have quite decent internet in the hostal so we head back there and spend the afternoon catching up on photo back up and updating my blog. When I was doing the Inca trail i hand wrote everything so now I have to translate it to my online blog, and as I'm rereading it I think I must have been suffering badly with altitude sickness as it doesn't make sense, either that or I was thinking in Spanish. In the evening we head to John's place where we have been recommended the burgers, but to be honest they weren't all that, and even though there's a karaoke bar in town it is totally empty. I feel that we're either out of season or this place isn't getting the tourists it deserves. Once again it's back to the hostel where we chill out just watching telly then to our room to climb under our mosquito net for a good night sleep.Read more