Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 165

    Reunited

    May 11, 2016 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    I wake early and must admit i feel totally refreshed, I make my way through to reception to take breakfast and try and skype with my family, I have to say my adoptive family for the past 4 days have been incredible and i dont think i could have wished for better. We pack up all our belongings as we will be catching a night bus to Puerto Maldonado tonight so have to be out of our room by 10am. This is our last day in Cusco and ive loved every minute, but it really is time to move on to pastures new. We wont leave till 9pm tonight so after packing we head off to return my camping equipment and duffle bag back to the office. Just before we arrive we bump into Dan who tells us that the family will meet at 1230 at the Green Point restaurant. we have an hour to go so head towards the San Pedro market to pick up a few things that we need. I encourage Dan to join us for one of the jugos especial which contains beer, both the men need no encouragement and as we sit enjoying the copias amount of juice we spof Noriko and give them both the information for the meeting point. I have an urgent need for the toilet and as i make my way there i know its not going to be nice. The toilets are just outside the market and are literally a hole in the ground with a big bucket of water that you fill your little bucket with to flush it. All i can say is im not a good aim and spend a god while later cleaning up after myself. We all head to the meeting point and order the meal of teh day. The restaurant is vegetarian but the food is amazing and extremely tasy, although all 4 cousres with a help yourself salad bar is more than i can eat. and for 3 ound is grat value for money. Once again we say our goodbyes to the family, and Mark and I hail a taxi to take us to the station, to purchase our tickets. My body is definitely in need of some attention and back in Cusco we take a walk down massage street. I have nick named it this as for the past 2 weeks whenever you walk down here you are approached about 20 times with 'massage massage', and for the past 2 weeks its been no gracias but today it will be pick me! i opt for the hot stone massage and take my place on the couch. By god when they say hot they mean hot, but i grit my teeth through it as i guess the hotter the better. As i leave the parlour i didnt realise how tight my muscles were, but now i feel totally relaxed, and Mark is waiting in a little cafe just outside. We have our llast little wonder round town and make our way back to tehe hostle to wait for our bus. Before to long we are in a taxi and arrive at the station, shortly after. To our surprise dan is here and we get to spend one final hour with him. The security at the sation as we are boading is intense withe security guards sweeping you, fingerprints taken and video camerad as we are getting on. We board without any issues and before too long were on our way. Time to catch up on some much needed sleep.Read more