Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 164

    Machu Picchu

    May 10, 2016 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    So after all the hard work today we will arrive aat the final destination. The past few days have been mentally and physically draining but the bonds we have made with our little Puma family and the team we have had supporting us has made it an experience I will never forget. We are woken at 3am and the usual process of the hot water is provided, but today we have the choice of hot drink, and im going to spoil myself with a hot chocolate. After a quick wash i am prepared for our final day. The earlly start is due to the porters having to catch the early train so literally as soon as we are out of the tent they are dismantled and the site is cleared. We have a fewminutes trek down and people are already queuing at the gate, which doesnt open it till 530. I pull out my plastic poncho and lay it on the ground to sit on. We have an hour and a half wait here and i nearly smoke myself to detah. just before the gates open i make my last use of the toilet as there are no more on the trail, and with this many people around i dont fancy using the Inca toilet (au natural) . We are ready and every ones spirits are really high. There is only 1 and a half hours trekking ro do this morning, but the final challenge is what the Peruvians call the gringos killer. After sitting for so long we are all glad to be moving and as we go through the checkpoint the sun is rising over the mountains in the distance. We walk for 20 mins and then stop to take off some layers, it's really strange how quickly the temperature changes once the sun has risen. Another hour of trekking and we come to a stop. There is a queue to get up the gringo killer and we all form an orderly queue to get our beating. Its not long before its my turn, I put my walking stick away and start my mount to the top, I can hear people cheering so I know the end is in site, and as I reach the top I am expecting to see more steps but am pleasantly surprised to see I've reached the sun gate. The sun is still rising behind us and the view is like a picture postcard. My emotions overwhelm me and I sit sobbing uncontrollably for at least 5 minutes, I so wish Mark was here. There are now quite a lot of people here, and we still have an hours decent to the actual site so Efry suggests we start to make our way down. Just as we leave the gate someone proposes and the whole place erupts with cheers and clapping, what a truly amazing place for such a gesture. I walk down slowly still feeling very sensitive and arrive at the checkpoint where we will all meet. The first busses of people just doing the one day tour start to arrive, and I look out like a hawk hoping I might see Mark.After 40 minutes we all trek down to the main entrance to use the toilets etc and the buses are coming in thick and fast, and I reside myself to the fact the chances of seeing him are going to be pretty slim. Efry walks us around the site giving us guides and info of all the important areas on the site. Just as we are listening to the facts about the sun temple a group walks past us, and there is something familiar about one of the people. IT'S MARK!!!!! All the group cheer and everyone around looks to see what all the commotion is. With a brief hug and kiss Mark sets off with his group and we arrange to meet at the entrance later. We spen the next hour or so walking round the ruins and taking various photos, before arranging that we will all meet for lunch in a bar in aguas calientes. Bus tickets are issued and i make my way to the entrance to wait for Mark. Its not long before he joins me and we decide to get the bus down to have a bit of time together before he catches his early train back. Aguas Calientes is a really touristy town, but there is somehing quite magical about it too. After a little exploring we make our way to the bar and all the Alpaca guides are in here. We buy them a beer and i just sit with Mark enjoying being reunited. Its not long before the Alpaca family start coming in, a couplle of the group have opted to go to the top of Machu Picchu mountain, but im so gla i didnt book my ticket. We drink a few beers and Mark has to leave to catch the train but im so glad i met him here, its been a long 4 days and there hasnt been a day weve spent apart in the past 4 montshs. We order food and before too long we are reunited as a whole family just in time to cath the 4.22 train back to ....... The train journey is amazing with the most phenominal views as it takes us along the river. I sit next to an older couple telling them my tales of the last few days . The jorney flys by and before to long we arrive in .... The bus is waiting for us to take us back to Cusco and weve arranged to meeet up later tonight for a drink, but by the time we get back we are so exhausted that we rearrange for tomorrow. After a shower Mark and i head out for a bite to eat and Sasha has arrived from Sucre so after a quick beer and nibbles with her its back to the hostel to get my well earnt rest in a double bed.Read more