Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 198

    Stranded

    June 13, 2016 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I set my alarm for 5 am as i want to see the sunset. The sun doesnt set on the sea as we are now on the Atlantic but it rises here. The three of us get up and make the short walk to the beach . It is already light but the sun is still not up, its only a short wait though before it starts to rise and its beautiful. Me and Asia go back to bed but Mark stays up reading in the hammock. I over sleep as breakfast finishes at 10 ant its now 1030. One of the ladies that works here comes running up to the room and asks if we want breakfast so i literally throw on a top and make our way down. Shortly after i fancy a walk down to the other beach about 4 km along the shore bit Mark wants to just chill out so i set off on my lonesome. A little way down the beach i buy a coconut water and sit under a palm having a ciggie and my refreshment when i spot Wilson . This place really is quite isolated and not a tourist in site. As i walk further along the beach there are rocks and as i navigate my way over them i can spot people in the distance who must all be laughing as they watch me getting hit by the incoming tide. There is a lovely little bar here filled with local people and their kids and i ask them if i can walk right along but they say not until the tide goes out which is 4 oclock so i order myself a drink and just chill out myself. They have Sam Smith playing in the bar and im quite enjoying my own company. I sit on the shore with the warm water lapping at my feet, the sea here is actually warmer than any shower you will take before showering underneath the ornate shower at the bar to get rid of the sea water. I walk further towards Tabatinga and there are a huge pile of rocks blocking my way so i take out my wrap and sit on my own little beach for a short while reading my kindle. An hour or so later there is no way to pass still and as i walk closer i see a little trail i follow it for 5 minutes and arrive on Tabatinga. I walk the whole length of the beach until i reach Tabatinga 2 which is where the red cliffs are. I perch myself behind a huge rock and once again get out my book. A man selling ice cream strolls along the beach with his little trolley and i purchase a Strawberry lolly which when i get it out of the wrapper is illuminous pink and tastes of bubblegum, i ask the guy where i can get a moto taxi and he says i cant only in jacuma. The only way back is to walk but to be honest its so pretty i dont mind. I finish my lolly and just as im leaving a guy approaches me and we make general chat before he asks me would i like a drink i kindly refuse and continue on walking i finally arrive ar the bar where i was this morning and everyone is still there with a few extras but now they are playing the music on drums and once again i refuse as i think Mark may be a little worried as ive been gone over 6 hours. I arrive back take a shower and we head out for something to eat. On route back we stop at the taxi rank to price up getting out of here tomorrow morning and its ridiculously expensive to go to recife so we opt to go back to joao pessoa and catch a bus from there. An early night as im going to try and catch sunrise again tomorrowRead more