Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 198

    Flying to Hong Kong

    June 13, 2016 in Hong Kong ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Well it wouldn't be me if there wasn't drama. I manage to lose Mark at Amsterdam airport. There is the slight problem that I have both the passports and I've arranged to meet Mark at a totally different place. I eventually have to put a tannoy out for him , and he shows up just in the nick of time. We are ushered through passport control literally grab our bags and queue jump the long line of passengers waiting to check in luggage. The lady advises we are possibly too late and that our flight is already boarding I beg her with tears eyes saying today is Marks 50th birthday and this is a special surprise. Thankfully she loads our bags onto the baggage rack and we literally run to our gate and get there just as its closing. That is the closest I've got to missing a flight without actually missing it. On board I tune into some movies but a couple of hours in feel really sick. I put it down to the stress but feel rough for the whole flight. We touch down in bejing airport 8 hours later but the time difference is 7 hours in front, my poor body is still catching up from Brazil and the jet lag has more than kicked in its kicked ass. Mark and I have a ruck before were even off the plane so I spend the time in the airport crying in a hidden corner thinking about catching the next flight home. I grab a Starbucks and suddenly everything seems ok again and we board the flight for the 3 hours to Hong Kong with me wearing sunglasses to hide my red eyes.
    At Hong Kong I'm thankful to see our luggage as I always worry when I have a connecting flight that I haven't put it on there myself but it's arrived safe and sound and we make our way to the metro. We have booked a hostel whilst at the airport right near Times Square and when we get off the humidity hits me in the face like a wet flannel. This place is a crazy shopping haven with bustling streets and so many shops but I have enough baggage on my back so we walk to the hostel and check in. Our room is barely big enough to swing a cat in but still feeling rough we get straight into bed and wake at 9pm. We pop out and grab a bite to eat at a street seller before returning to the hostel and falling straight back into bed.
    Read more