Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 812

    And were off again

    February 17, 2018 in Finland ⋅ ⛅ -18 °C

    So today is a pretty crazy day for me as my usual agenda boarding a plane would be jetting off somewhere hot, but today couldn’t be more different, I’m off to Lapland with my Finnish partner in crime Ida.
    Even as I’m sat on the plane as we fly to helsinki it still seems a bit surreal. This is one of the first times I’ve flown where I’m not in that holiday mood of giddiness and I don’t know why although not feeling well might have something to do with it. We will fly to Helsinki first before flying out to Oulu which is about an hour away. Our arrival time is 1 in the morning and luckily Ida’s mum is picking us up so at least we won’t have our pants pulled down using an airport taxi. We arrive at Helsinki airport and the slight panic we might miss our connecting flight is calmed when the captain advises us that they have a delay on that flight also. The good news is it means I can have a cigarette in the airport smoking room which I have to say is the cleanest one I’ve ever seen. After a cigarette or two we head for the departure lounge and within no time at all we’re back on the bus to catch our flight to Oulu. Sitting on the plane waiting for take off a large crane like lorry approaches the plane and starts spraying the wing with anti free, this is to prevent anything from freezing up, well it is minus 16 outside. We arrive in Oulu without any freezing issues and I head through customs to have a cigarette while Ida waits for our case. Ida’s mums meeting us at the airport and as I go through there’s a lady that looks just like Ida and I say hello but it isn’t Ida’s my so rather than make a show of myself again I go and have my cigarette. Oh my gosh I wasn’t expecting how cold it was but the snow sparkles like diamonds even as it’s falling from the sky it’s so pretty. Back in the arrivals lounge it’s not long before Ida comes through with the case and is greeted by a lady that looks nothing like her and a lot younger than I was expecting. She drives us the 20 km back to the apartment and after a quick chat heads off and we get straight to bed as it’s 2am
    Read more