Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,227

    Familiar faces

    January 2, 2022 in Singapore ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    I wake early and do my daily covid test before making way over to meet up with Charlie who stayed with me as a guest for 3 months during the summer when he couldn't get back to Singapore to see his family. I jump the tube for 40 minutes and Charlie meets me at the metro. They live in a condo apartment with it own pool gym and hot tub in the centre .
    We spend the morning catching up before heading a few stops to share lunch with his mum. After lunch we make an effort to try and get Charlie a sim, I can't believe I'm one step ahead of him when he's been here 3 weeks. The shopping malls here are crazy, they stretch over floors and basements , each shop having the number of the floor it's on followed by the number of the shop eg 2.56 so you would think the numbers run in order but that's not necessarily the case and Google maps is no good indoors. I send myself dizzy just trying to find where I am. The difference it makes being with someone I know has really raised my spirits a familiar face makes such a difference. Late afternoon we part company and when I disembark the tube I head to find the LFC shop hoping someone can advise me where I might be able to see the game, but to no avail. I've messaged the lfc supporters singapore club who usually meet at The Marriot Riverside but since covid that's been knocked on the head.
    I make an enquiry to Muddy Murphys Irish bar but they advise me that they aren't allowed to show any live TV. I accept the fact I'm going to have to head back to my room to stream it. After realising the game doesn't start for another 2 hours I go down to the foyer for a ciggie and get chatting to a dad and his son who is a liverpool supporter who says it might be on at the pool 🎱 bar round the corner, I laugh and say I'm a hustler and the young lad says he's good 🤣🤣 I beat him 5-3 😉 before heading back for the game let's hope we get the same result 👍
    Read more