Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,226

    Sight-seeing and Shopping

    January 1, 2022 in Singapore ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    The start of my New Year begins with wandering down to Kampong Glam , its the Arabic quarter of Singapore, together with Little India and Chinatown. I head down to catch the metro at bugis and my metro card won't work yet I topped it up yesterday. When I get to the counter and hand the lady my ticket, she advises me that my room card won't work and I'll have to buy a proper ticket 🙃 I proceed to the barrier putting exchanging my room card for my actual metro card and it works ( well they do look the same ). I arrive in Kampong Glam and am amazed by the quirkiness of the streets. The main building here is the mosque The present building on commissioned in 1924, was designed by Irish architect Denis Santry of Swan and Maclaren in the Indo-Saruernic style, although the original one was built in 1819 when Sir Raffles himself signed a treaty with the British East India company allow them to have a trading post in Singapore.
    The streets are adorned with colourful art decorated murals and I love getting lost in the maze of streets, seeing something new as I turn each corner. As I stroll up the next street it's full of bars and restaurants serving everything from Turkish to Egyptian to Arabic. I have a few things on my shopping list to aquire. The shopping malls here are amazing and the Air conditioning is welcoming with wearing a mask in this humidity. I purchase the essentials and also splash out on a pair of shoes that cost me £8 as all I've got is 1 pair of flip-flops and trainers which I don't think will cut it when I go to the Raffles bar for my Singapore Sling tomorrow night 😀
    Read more