Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,234

    Southern Ridges

    January 9, 2022 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Considering I was partying till the early hours I feel relatively good and after going to purchase some mosquito spray I make the journey to the Southern ridges. With the travel card you can use it on buses and trains, and for a change I take the bus. They look just like the Arriva bus at home and work on the same principle. I head up the forest path which is an intertwined maze of metal boardwalks. The signs are very vague and when I get to the top I ask a guy directions and he says he's heading that way and we trek together he's a philipino nurse here and loves to trek so shows me the route to the highest point I Singapore. The views are spectacular and after a few photo opportunities we head down and make our parting ways. A reality of travelling is there's still the basics to be done and I spend the afternoon doing laundry and by chance bump into Daryl a guy from Canada I was chatting to in the kitchen here the other night with his beautiful girlfriend Geraldine ❤ they invite me to join them for a drink and after dumping my laundry make my way down to join them. We spend the next couple of hours just talking and these past few weeks have really made me realise how important it is to engage., another example of how we take things for granted and yet when I was at home would have company and we'd all be on our phones? The art of communication will soon be a thing of the past. As we sit chatting the guy on the table next to us also joins In the conversation and a couple opposite but it's soon shut down when the manager comes over at says we can't talk. Daryl has arranged to join his friends and I give him my word I will get Geraldine back safely. Jon can now join our table and we spend the next few hours discussing a whole host of things it's interesting for me to listen to different people and learn, this is real travelling for me. We bid our goodbyes and when we come to pay the bill Jon has already paid. Geraldine and I make our way home and share a final drink at the roof top bar before last orders at 10pm. Having drunk white beer whisky and gin I am very well oiled and within minutes of hitting the sack I'm in the land of nodRead more