Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,235

    Beach Day

    January 10, 2022 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    I'm heading to the beach today. The weather has picked up and its a weekday which is generally the best time to visit Sentosa Island. Formerly used as a British military base and then a pow camp the island now houses a 2km man made beach as well as various tourist attractions including universal studios and madame tussauds a huge aquarium, watermark as well as being able to bunji jump and immerse yourself in a 4d adventure land. There are various ways to get onto the island, bus, monorail, cablecar and train so I just take the bus. Once on the island there are shuttle buses and beach buggies so I jump on board so I can keep my legs to walk the beach. Along the beach I come across a cubicle for breastfeeding mums they really do think of everything here.
    As I wander the beach a kind older man offers me a space where there's a huge parasol and I need the shade today its 30+ degrees. I get chatting to the gentleman and he tells me he's 83 which I find hard to believe. There are changing rooms along the beach and I make myself comfortable. The water is warm and I actually feel like I'm on holiday for the first time. I soak it all up and sit on the waters edge reading my book and relaxing planes fly over and across the cove huge container ships still pulling me back to the fact of where we actually are. I constantly push myself to get out and do stuff so sometimes I need to be a bit kinder to myself and not put so much pressure on after all I've got a year. I jump the monorail back which takes me to the base of the Southern ridges so I know which bus to jump back on.I need a change of food today and don't want to do fast food so head to a little Mexican just round the corner, and although a little spicy is delicious . I'm going to have a netflix night as I'm off trekking at 7am tomorrow and I think my kidneys need a rest.
    Read more