Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,242

    Embassy revisisited

    January 17, 2022 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    My first thing on the agenda today is the Thai embassy to try and get my Thai pass sorted . After a 40 min trek it's closed, even though o n the website it states they are open. Its not far from the major shopping centre so it's not a wasted journey as I have a few things to pick up here. The guys and girls from the roof top bar have been my saviours here and I missed Regina's birthday the other day so as a thank you I buy a 12 box at krispy Kreme to say thank you. I've been advised that I can buy a birthday card near to the hotel so I head back that way. My plan is to go to the bird park in jurong but after checking on the website discover its only open Thurs to Sunday. I decide that I'll change my plans and just go to the night safari instead, but again when I look that is also only open Thursday through Sunday. What is it with everything being closed today. I have plans Thursday night so it looks like I'm not going to make it there after all. Back at the hotel I drop the little gifts off not wanting them to melt and decide to have a siesta. The heat today is suffocating but when I wake and head to the lobby for a cigarette the sky's have opened and its pouring. As I stand having my cigarette I'm caught by the police and just about manage to blag my way out of it . This is the perfect country. Everyone adheres to the rules, everything runs on time and everyone is equal and respected. I could live here if it wasn't so expensive. At 5 I make my way to the roof top bar to drop off the gifts and after a couple of g&t the guys tell me about a crash less than 12 months ago which happened right on the road outside. 5 young men were in the car and died it puts into perspective how precious life is.
    Feeling a little bit peckish I just head local for various snacks of deed fried camambert and pork satay. I can honestly say I'll be sad to leave here. From the emotional wreck when I first arrived to where I am now, the flip-flops are definitely well worn in and I am back in the travelling mode.
    Read more