Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,272

    Macha Bucha

    February 16, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    It hasn't stopped raining since about 3 this morning and it's pretty much set in for the day. I wake early and with having drunk so much I feel like I've got an axe in my head. I walk as far as the coffee shop and get a proper coffee, in the slight hope that it might sort me out, but it's to no avail and I even get one to take away. Today is Makha Bucha day which is to honour Buddha and the teachings he offered on the full moon day. Its almost comical as thousands of people have turned up to koh phagnan for a party and nowhere is allowed to sell beer, although I think if you look hard enough you'd properly find one served to you wrapped with newspaper and an elastic band round it or poured into a coffee cup. . I venture out later in the morning and go to the 7/11 to do a shop for bits and pieces luckily the guys at SeeSea hostel have an umbrella although wearing flip-flops in the rain doesn't make for good walking. Talking about flip-flops I am constantly amazed at how many random single flip-flops there are in the street. I mean really how do you leave one flip-flop behind? And it's not like it's a one off I pretty much see it every time we go out. We spend the day in the hostel and to be fair the owners Matt and Sonny they entertain us in the afternoon as its still pouring,After a game of Uno we have a trivia quiz and matt takes me to the red bar a liverpool bar here in Thailand and after a "coffee" and a game of pool I head back with mac and cheese for tea. I lounge around for an hour or so and I'm shocked at how many peand matt and Sonny ask if I'd like to join them at two rocks . Matt takes me down on the bike first and then him and Sonny follow. I've set up the balls for pool and there is a Thai guy who is on his own hovering over the pool table so I ask if he wants a game. Luckily I beat him and the I take on Matt with another victory under my belt. I've missed pool so much in the uk because when the bars had to have tables the pool tables were taken out. The Thai guy Keg comes and joins us and tells us about his family. I love the way if you give the time Thai people share their stories. .Read more