Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,282

    Road to nowhere

    February 26, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    I take myself for my usual caffeine fix before walking to shark Bay. It's a 35 minute walk and it's still quite overcast so it's perfect for walking. I always say you see so much more when you're walking. There are no pavements anywhere on the islands in Thailand as the roads are just left for motorbikes and tuk tuks. And you're in as much danger as actually being on a scooter. I wander down the windy roads and once again Google maps has sent me on a wild goose chase. I can see the beach through a little resort entrance but when I look at the map it's telling me to go up the hill and I guess this is the public entrance but as I reach the top I wander down the steps it brings me to a rocky outreach. I retrace my steps and a Thai guy points me in the right direction but I end up on private resort that's never reopened since covid. I stroll through and eventually find a space to climb down to the beach. I literally have the beach to myself and enjoy the time reading my book and having quiet time. When I return to my bungalow I'm still unsure whether to head back to phi phi or to go North first. There's only one thing for it I toss a coin and the outcome is to head North. I book my ferry and bus to Hua Hin and am kind of glad to be heading to the mainland. As I walk down for dinner the birds are flying in huge swarms and eventually come to rest all together on one line under a shelter and I wonder if this is a sign it will rain. I opt for pasta tonight and really enjoy it gnocchi with Gorgonzola. Next stop is my local and when I order a beer the Thai guy gives me two 10 baht coins automatically so I can play pool. The other guys walk past and join me for a beer as this will be our last night all together and I have loved their company it makes me feel young at heart being around young people. The night finishes in the Leo bar with dancing and just as I'm leaving the island I'm starting to fall in love with it.Read more