Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,283

    Stranded at sea

    February 27, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    I catch the early ferry to Chumpon today it leaves the harbour at 1015 and within 30 minutes of being at sea we hit something. There is the most terrible noise and then the engines are cut off. I make sure I know where the life jackets are and head out to the aft of the ferry to see whats going on. It seems something is caught in the propeller and with a small buoy 2 guys jump in with a machete to see if they can see what it is. There is no way id be jumping in that water with all the sharks ive seen over the past couple of weeks It's the most craziest of situations as pretty much everybody on the ferry is clinging to a plastic bag to be sick into as the ferry rocks away sure enough within half an hour we are back on coarse and the captain makes an announcement we are going to be an hour late into chumpon but I have no worries as I'm pretty sure that the buses will wait for us. We board the bus for tge 4 hour journey and I'm more than glad to find that my seat reclines and with my neck pillow managed to grab a couple of hours sleep just as I wake we pull into a service station where you load a card with 100 baht about £2.20 and when you finish take it back to the counter to get your change. Back on the bus and the mountains really make me glad I'm back on the mainland and a lot closer to the North. The bus randomly drops us on the side of the road and when I get Google maps up I'm only 9 minutes from my hostel so I pick up my bags bid farewell to Claire and walk. I literally check in and drop my bags. I've Googled for a place that might be showing the Liverpool game. Murphys bar says it open till 2am and it's literally around the corner so I head there. Very disappointed as they are closing at 10pm but I get chatting to a couple who own a property here and they say the only place that might have it on is father Ted's and am disappointed again as they also won't be showing it. Looks like streaming ir again.Read more