Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,286

    Pg tips

    March 2, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    My first point of call this morning is The Irish bar and no it's not for a beer its for a pg tips cup of tea and beans on toast. I can't believe they have proper t bags. It sets me up for the day. Damon has invited me to Bangkok to see one of his gigs and its all about the experiences for me on this trip so I grab it with both hands even if it is a diversion off the route I'd planned its kind of in the right direction. He's paid for a private taxi and says he'd be paying for it anyway so I agree to pay for dinner. We set off just before 1 as I bid goodbye to the girls along the street I've been staying who are all dressed up in there finery. The journey takes about 2and a half hours and it's like travelling in luxury compared to the bus once we've killed all the mosquitos in the car. We arrive at the destination well on time. Damon has a gig tonight so he has time to prepare and I indulge in the fact I've got pool. He's advised me that there are some good eating places along the street nearby and I opt for the gyozas that are the best I've had yet. I take a walk along the river and as I walk past the temple and down the alley to the pier I feel vulnerable for first time in a while. I don't know why because as I sit by the river I get the best table service I've had in a while with a bucket of ice and a glass with a large Leo as I sit watching the river boats go by. The whole river is lit up with the lights from the buildings that encompass the riverbank shedding their reflection onto the water. It really is an amazing city but over the years there isn't a space along the waterfront that is free from high rise buildings housing luxury hotels and huge glass fronted shopping centres. I meander back to the hotel taking in the smells from the street vendors cooking up their wares on the pavements and am shocked to spot a van on my back that is so full of parcels its leaning to one side it gives me a little chuckle before crashing into my luxurious bed and watching telly before drifting off into the land of nod.Read more