Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,285

    Things to do

    March 1, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I get up really late today which is unusual for me and I have quite a bit to do today. I take my laundry to the lady just down the road and she wants to charge 200 baht . The maximum I've paid so far is 80 and I take my stuff back and find a place that's half the price but when I ask when it will be finished he tells me tomorrow night. The lady in charge of the massage shop where I went to yesterday asks what the matter is she says come with me and after grabbing some washing powder and liquid walks me round the corner and puts my stuff in the machine and and I pay 40 baht. The washing takes 45 minutes and I go back to the hostel and ask if it's OK to hang It out in the garden. She shows me where there's a line and even comes out with coat hangers for me to put it on the line. Honestly the kindness of people here never stops to amaze me. In the afternoon I walk to the shopping mall which is full of high end westernised shops and western people but gives me the opportunity to indulge in a Starbucks coffee. I also take the opportunity to have my nails done. I've arranged to meet Damon for dinner at Buckleys bar where the girls have also been kind and after a game of pool and a beer I suggest we go to the night Market. The street I am staying on is very similar to walking street in phuket with lady bars adorned the whole way along the street and as a single woman i dont get a lot of attention but there are all polite enough to say hello. The second theres a male farang(Thai word for westerner) the bars go crazy even if they are with a woman. Damon has never eaten in one of the night markets before and as we walk through we try the sweetcorn fritters as an appetiser they are quite sweet but I enjoy them. The stalls are ladened with fresh fish and when I spot a red snapper I suggest we should try this. I order it with crab fried rice and garlic and pepper sauce. We both love it and feeling really full enjoy a few beers before bidding each other goodnight.Read more