Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,330

    Melaka bound

    April 15, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    15/4/22Once again I take the opportunity to make the most of our pool and when I arrive to reception I'm once again greeted by Mourieen. She is such a nice lady and so helpful. I have to say the attentiveness and service In Malaysia so far has blown me away. I also take advantage of a Starbucks and when I get back to the hotel Jon suggests we should go for breakfast in bar38 in the hotel to soak up the amazing view. We sit eating breakfast overlooking the Petronas Towers and it really is a sight to behold. Mid morning we book our taxi to the bus station as we are off to Melaka to meet up with Ged and Darryl. As the bus leaves the station I realise I've left my bag with my lonely planet on the seat in the station but were already on route so I learn my lesson of checking my seat when I leave.The journey is only 2 hrs and we decide to wait for Darryl and Geraldine at the station. After an hour and a half they finally arrive. Its so good to see them. We jump a taxi and arrive at the accommodation. Its not in the centre but there are plenty of bars and restaurants here. So we literally drop our bags and head out. We choose a bar called Fifty 5 and order drinks. Its supposed to be happy hour but when the drinks come out they are in half pint glasses very deceiving. There are lots of arcades with the grab machines here and while were sat in the bar one of the ladies comes out and gives us 5 tokens. Me and Ged go in first and I win I literally run up and down the arcade am pleased as punch even though ive only won an elephant key ring. Then Jon and Darryl go in and we hear a cheer. Jon comes out with a hermit crab cuddly toy we laugh so much. One of Darryl's friends James has travelled down from Kuala Lumpur to meet us and after numerous beers topped up with Soju we head back to meet him and for love and money we can't get a taxi into town. I suggest we have a wander back to the area we were in and after a 5 minute stroll find a bar with a pool table. We head inside and we're greeted by the locals like we're royalty. We then get handed microphones and end up in here all night singing karaoke and playing pool. I'm glad we've only got a 5 minute walk home.Read more