Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,336

    Limau Limau

    April 21, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ☁️ 31 °C

    I wake this morning and my floor is covered in blood, as I've taken my shoes off downstairs my toe has bled everywhere but because I was drunk I didn't realise. I arrange to meet James for breakfast and we go to a little cafe called Limau Limau. The owner of the Cafe is a lady called Sam and she makes us so welcome. She runs the place with her brother Jason and we sit talking. Throughout the day various customers come in that we're here before the pandemic and I can see why they come back. A lady called Michelle comes in with the biggest apple pie and we all get a slice its absolutely delicious and the pastry is amazing. Sam is talking me in to staying another night and wants me to cook with her tomorrow. Its a strange thing as I've really missed being able to cook and the cafe has an amazing kitchen. On a Friday and Saturday they have a vinyl night and I guess it will be another experience for me so I decide to make the commitment and stay. I literally spend the whole day in here enjoying the company and getting hints and tips of where I can go but at this rate I can't see me leaving Melaka. Its strange how the people of a place can keep you there for much longer than you planned. A little later in the afternoon Sams dad comes to the shop with the oldest vespa I've seen and the boys leave to go and do some repairs on it The cafe shuts at 6pm but Sam,Jason and Michelle invite me and James to join them for dinner and drive us to a wonderful authentic chinese restaurant out of town. The restaurant originally used to be in the centre but they wanted it to be more Malaysian for the tourists so the Chinese were made to move. Its really busy and Sam orders a variety of things off the menu so me and James can enjoy the full experience. We have sweet potato leaf, salted duck egg chicken, okra, ribs , noodles and rice and I really enjoy everything but my favourite is definitely the salted duck egg chicken . My toe hasn't stopped bleeding and Sam kindly offers to take me to the clinic where they glue my toe and dress it. She then drops me back at home where I book to stay for one more night and take to my bed without a single drop of alcohol passing my lipsRead more