Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,341

    Heading to the Highlands

    April 26, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 20 °C

    I wake at just after 9 and have raging toothache but take a few pain killers. I have arranged to do breakfast with James. He picks me up on the bike and takes me to a cool little cafe where a lawyer has all his books and has opened it so other lawyers can come and use them while having a coffee or sandwich. I've packed my rucksack which just seems to get easier each time I do it and James once again kindly offers to drop me to the bus station. I'm quite sad saying goodbye to him as he's been the best company for the last 10 days and although we are polar opposite have got on brilliantly. I board the bus for the 5-6 hour journey and I'm a little disappointed that I haven't got a massager on my seat this time. The bus journey passes quite quickly as I've downloaded a few things off Netflix and caught up on my blog. When we get to a place called Ringlet it's a good 40 minute snaking road upto the bus stop passing lots and lots of plastic covered green houses sitting on steep hills that house all tge vegetables they are famous for growing here. It's only an 8 minute walk to my hostel so I grab my rucksack and walk there. I'm so hungry so I literally drop my bag and head for food. My first stop though is to buy some mosquito spray, I've been eaten alive In KL and need to take precautions here. The guy in the shop recommends a traditional indian restaurant here and I order the chicken korma with roti and they even have 3 layer tea. When it comes out its more like a Madras but still delicious. I leave here and find a chemist they have no painkillers but Clove oil and to be honest it works better than the pain killers. I take myself to bed early to get up for the dentist tomorrowRead more