Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,344

    Ipoh bound

    April 29, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    I wake this morning with raging toothache again but decide I'll get it seen to in Ipoh and finish off my packing. The people in Father's Guesthouse have been amazing and I've really enjoyed my stay. The holidays are imminent so at least if I get to Ipoh I'll have a few choices. I grab a pancake for breakfast with hot tea then make my way to the bus station. Harvey and Marly are on the same bus and it really makes me chuckle when the vehicle in front all we can see is a pair of feet and its either someone sleeping or a dead body. when we arrive in Ipoh they manage to catch an earlier bus than they'd booked so I share a brew with them and get a grab to my hotel. Luckily they let me check in early and by midday I'm out exploring the city. I've taken a painkiller and my tooth ache seems to have gone so I'm going to see how it goes. The city is renowned for its street art instigated by a Lithuanian street artist Ernest Zacharevic but ill post these pictures separately. My first stop is 22 Hale Street a museum taking us back to when tin miners were Kings and how the street where its housed was known as hotel street. A really interesting way to present it as you walk through the old buildings that's been restored to its original glory and with beautiful pieces of original furniture. Stupidly I then put in bus station Ipoh instead of Train station and end up walking to tge other side of town and wondering why I couldn't see this historic building then realising I was actually looking at the bus station ah well at least I know where it is for future reference. Eventually I make it to the train station its one of the main heritage buildings here and sits with other beautiful white colonial style buildings including the town hall and clock tower. I wander aimlessly through the streets discovering new little alleyways and street art around every corner as I'm about to cross the river a youn guy asks me if he can help me and I say I'm looking for the mosque he points me in the right direction but also gives me some other places I should definitely see. Ansell also says I should go and see the the Chinese temple and take tea at the Seong man teahouse. As we stand on the bridge that connects the old town with the new town he explains it used to be called the bridge to nowhere and that there was only really 20 years between the old and new towns being built I take his advise and after the temple and mosque visit enjoy traditional tea with a hot water heater and a bol of sweet potato with grass jelly served with brown sugar and milk - nicer than it sounds. As I'm about to finish off it starts pouring and a girl who I saw in the noodle shop called Max kindly offers to give me a lift back. I pop out for a bite to eat before taking my aching mouth to bed.Read more