Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,345

    Holiday hectic

    April 30, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    I spent nearly an hour trying to book a train out of ipoh to Kuala kangsar and even though it says there are 4 seats available it won't let me book them so the guy from here has kindly offered to drop me to the train station. It is the labour day holiday but also the end of Ramadan so everyone is on holiday. The tradition is that the whole family travel to the most senior members home. When I check there is literally no availability in either Kuala kangsar or Taiping, the nearest accommodation is 15 miles away from each and they are both £60 per night for a room with shared bathroom. I call my hotel in Ipoh and ask if I can stay another night and then I book my accommodation in Penang. I walk to the local bus station and enquire about getting to the caves and Castle here. There is a bus at the station ready to leave for one of the caves but my sensibility gets the better of me and I decide I should maybe get my tooth looked at before the holiday season starts. I have seen a dentist right by the hotel and in case I need to go lie down after any procedure walk back. They see me right away and the problem is in my back tooth which has a large filling. The dentist has no xray machine but offers to remove the filling and perform a procedure that needs doing. She gives me an injection to numb it bur it doesn't touch the sides and after 3 injections I try and tolerate the pain. My pain threshold is high but I have to say I'm clinging to the ceiling. I've been in the chair more than an hour when I get lock jaw, the tears are streaming down my face and each time she touches the nerve it's like an electric shock. After 3 hours she gives up and explains she has cleaned it and prepared it but with the inflammation and the pain she's unable to deal with the last root and will put a temporary filling in till I can get it seen to in another destination. I pay the bill and leave feeling very sorry for myself. I take myself to the hotel for a lie down and set my alarm so I can get up for the Liverpool game. When I wake I feel a lot better and get a shower and Don my Liverpool shirt. I'm going to Healy Macs Irish bar which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and when I arrive its pretty busy. I order myself a bucket of beers which is usually 5 but for some reason I get 6. The guy looks a bit shocked that they're all for me but they're only half a pint and having not had a drink for nearly a week I'm ready for a few cold ones. Shortly after a group of about 15 young lads come in and I get chatting to them . They are here with the Australian army and do 3 months training out here including 3 days survival training in the jungle, well this Navy girls already ticked that box. The even funnier part is they're from Newcastle in Australia and the conversation ends shortly after. I enjoy the game except for the fact there's no commentary but they have a live band on and they are brilliant especially the singer @baytyemran. Liverpool score and I'm relieved when the whole bar cheers. After the game I chat a while with the band before heading back to base. I'll definitely sleep tonight.Read more