Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,354

    Back in the saddle

    May 9, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    I've hired a bike today and I plan to head to Kuah. There isn't much to see there but I'm interested in the Naval base that's enroute. I have a breakfast in the local place near me called Raos banana leaf I have the kopi brew which is a strong bitter coffee sweetend by condensed milk and chapati with a small curry. Its delicious and ill be back for the banana leaf rice which is rice served very hot on a banana leaf giving it additional flavour and sides of vegetables and curry. After brunch I chill in my hammock as I don't really want to be riding in the rain yes I say rain not the midday sun as its been a little shower this morning. I enjoy my ride in the afternoon its a while since I've had a bike but the road here is pretty good and I manage to dodge all showers. I make my way back to my place and get chatting to Ruth who is a teacher and travelling for 8 months and Dean who is working out here remotely. There are so many ways to travel and fund it and I feel extra appreciative today that I am actually doing this. I invite Ruth to join me for dinner and we stroll to the end of the road and enjoy a wonderful fish dinner. There is killer pool at the supper club tonight so I ask if Ruth wants to join we walk down and when we enter it all Malaysian men apart from one lady. Its 5 rm to participate and in the first round I get knocked out in second to last place. The guys here are really good and when I say really good I mean it. Half way through an old guy called Uncle Johnny comes in I got talking to him this morning in the restaurant and he said he might call in. I put my 5rm in for the second round of killer and I'm shocked to say I win. We get bought a beer and I collect my 45rm winnings. One of the guys here is a die hard Liverpool fan(there are a lot of them in Malaysia) and after a few selfies we bid our farewells. I've had a wonderful evening but I'm ready for bed.Read more