Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,377

    Sunsets and discos

    June 1, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    This morning I've decided to change hostels there is noone else staying where I am and although the peace is nice I want to be around people to share hints and tips. I pack my stuff up and after a quick coffee make the short journey to my new place. On route here I see the camera repair shop is open so after dropping my bags I grab my gopro and head down to see if it can be fixed. The guy explains its unfixable as because its a sealed unit they can't replace the charger port as it won't be waterproof anymore. Back at the hostel I make some enquiries about climbing Mount Kinabalu but with being a single person and a tourist the price is ridiculous. For a 2day 1 night stay its 2300 rm which is over £400 so I decide I'm just going to take a bus to the National Park and do some trekking there and save my money for something else. A guy in the hostel advises me I should head down for the sunset and as I head out I'm not so sure as the sky is full of big dark rainclouds but as I get nearer the waterfront I'm amazed as the sun is like a ball of fire. The sunset is so spectacular I sit there stunned just watching it till eventually I feel spots of rain and make my way back. The hostel owner has offered to get me cheap beers and cigarette and when I arrive back he's delivered the goods. I ask where to go for food and Michael offers to take me to his cousins restaurant we grab a bottle of wine and a short taxi ride brings us to Sembulan Lobster restaurant. I order the salted egg prawns and the biggest large plate of prawns is delivered to the table. They are truly delicious and after finishing the red wine we make our way back with a doggy bag. I'm then invited to go dancing and at the first bar they have a live dj but the music is a bit techno and then we go to Tipsy on the waterfront. The beer is really expensive but what a place strobe lighting and a mc with full on dance music. Ronaldo one of the other guys has joined us and hes a big tic roc dancer out here. We have a ball and being the only westerner every time I put my glass down someone else wants to cheers. We all walk back at about 1 am so I think trekking is off for tomorrow.Read more