Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,378

    Rainy day

    June 2, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    My plan this morning was to go trekking to mount Kinabalu but it's pouring so I've decided to hang around here with the locals in the hostel and get more info. Travelling around Sabah is proving more difficult than I thought and more expensive. I've had a quote to climb Mount Kinabalu and it's over £400 which is 2 day 1 night but with the weather how it is I'm definitely not guaranteed a view and the only thing I am guaranteed is to get wet. The guys suggest we can go to the beach and do some stand up paddle boarding. Ronaldo works here but when he calls they say the wind has really picked up here and that the lifeguard has said none is to go in the water. Instead we venture across the road for pastry and coffee and then onto the Philipino market. They sell all handcrafted items here and strangely it seems to be men that make them sitting outside on there singer sewing machines. I receive a message from Langkawi to say that one of the guys Anand has died this morning at 3am. This shocks me to the core as he was cycling every morning and is only the same age as me. Life is very short and we really dont know what tomorrow will bring so really live for the day . I compose myself but its pouring so We take shelter in The cock and bull where a jug of beer is £15 and play several games of pool. Including 9 ball. Michael suggests for us to go the new night Market that's just opened for food. It's amazing there are so many food stalls with so many choices of food and after a good wander around taking in the smells and aromas we collect a few different dishes and head back to find a table. Tonight is the soft opening but there are so many people here we manage to find a table but then hunt around for a long time looking for a seat. After nearly half an hour we're all sat down and eating. It's delicious and I thoroughly enjoy it as well as the claim to fame I'm the first foreigner who has been here. It's back to the hostel for an early night.Read more