Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,382

    Orangutan Sanctuary

    June 6, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    I wake early this morning and im so excited I'm hopefully going to get to see Orangutan in there natural environment. Here in Sepilok they have a sanctuary to rehabilitate Orangutan back into the jungle through a program that encourages them back into the jungle and feed themselves naturally its crazy because if I don't get to see one the program is really working. T I'm over the moon with the hostel I'm staying in and even though I'm in a dorm on my own there are multiple dorms and there are people staying in them so I'm still getting to meet some Europeans and get hints and tips. The showers here are also luxurious hot and strong and even though restricted to certain hours the hours suit me. Breakfast is also excellent and included in the price of the stay and this morning I had a full English as I knew I was going to be out most of the day. Its about a 1.5 km walk to the sanctuary and I arrive nice and early and although there are quite a few tour groups I imagine back before covid this place would be rammed. I cleverly follow a couple who are with a guide .43 sq km of protected land at the edge of Kabili Sepilok Forest Reserve was turned into a rehabilitation site for orangutans and this is where Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre is located.The founder was actually an English lady called Barbara Harrison and Today around 60 to 80 orangutans are living independently in the reserve and approximately 25 orphaned orangutans are housed in the nurseries. Babies usually stay with their mothers for 6 yrs to learn the life skills they need to survive but here they use a buddy system pairing the babies with older monkeys also at the sanctuary. My first stop is the outdoor nursery where food is put out to bring the monkeys in and I watch behind a huge glass window as they swing from platform to platform eating the fruit left for them. As I walk round to the next stop of the outdoor feeding area I get chatting to one of the park rangers. He's worked here for 33 years and from nowhere a huge male Orangutan comes up behind us and poses on the fence. I'm so blessed because there isn't a soul in site and then he starts walking towards us. The ranger tells me to stand behind and as I do I can't help but video this beautiful beast strutting his stuff. I watch as he then makes his way towards the crowd waiting at the feeding area buts its quite funny as when i get there hes found a female companion anx they spend the whole feeding time mating instead of eating whole the Macau monkeys have a field day but feel I've enjoyed a very special moment so much so I go back for the afternoon feed and get to witness a mother and her playful baby but this time with the crowds but nothing could beat this morning.Read more