Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2,381

    Sepilok bound

    June 5, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    I wake at 6 am to get to the bus station for the 8am bus to Sepilok. I packed last night so its just a case of a quick shower and packing my last minute bits and bobs. I book a grab but he struggles to find me and 30 minutes later after sending photos I eventually get my cab. It means I arrive late to the bus station and the 8am bus is fully booked. Thankfully there is a bus at 1030 so I buy my ticket and sit in the cafe across the road. The lady serving is called Atik and asks if she can get a selfie. Of course I obliged and make my way back to the station. As I board the bus I notice my rucksack keeps getting put on and taken off as I'm getting off at Sepilok its the stop before the main stop at Sandakan so needs to be easily accessible as once again I'll be dropped off at the side of the road. The views on the journey are outstanding floating between jungles and rows of psalm trees. Its absolutely beautiful although the road leaves a lot to be desired. It is more like a track than a road and seeing as its the only road that connects the East to the West its a nightmare. Along the route we pass through a couple of towns. One called Kundasang and one called Ranau, the home of Sabah tea. As we drive along the road there is a lorry with a bunch of young boys in the back all dressed in the same outfits and they look like they are are off to perform somewhere but the journey is bad enough on a bus let alone in the back of a lorry in this heat. The journey takes nearly 8 hours as half way along the route they are doing major roadworks which are highly need. At the same time it's really strange to see these huge diggers in the middle of the Borneo jungle.. Also along the way I see massive clearings of trees as they dig to reinforce embankments. 5 hours into the journey we stop at a roadside restaurant which is pretty big but when I go to use the toilet I'm gobsmacked as the isn't even a hole in the ground. You literally pee on the floor and there's a drainage hole in the back wall. It absolutely stinks. And so do my flip-flops I pour water over the and I'm just glad I didn't need a number 2. Back on the bus I brace myself for the rest of the bumpy journey. As predicted I get dropped by the side of the road and just by chance try and get a grab. To my absolute joy I get one in 5 minutes and it's a massive shock as I didn't think they'd have them this far out. I get another wonderful surprise when I arrive to the hostel. Its absolutely beautiful and I think I've been dropped to the wrong place but apparently not. The only downside is I'm in the dorm on my own but after the crowdidness of my last one I'm going to make the most of it. Its a great place here and the hot strong shower is well appreciated after the journey. Its strange the things your grateful for when you travel. I take a little walk out and there is literally nothing apart from the sanctuaries here so i make my way back before going to the restaurant. I'm surprised at how cheap it is because its the only place open. I have dinner on my own then head back to my room for an early night.Read more